Make a proper favicon for your web site

Sunday is my website cleanup day. My error logs looked clean, so I decided to finally make a proper favicon for my primary web site.

I remember being surprised to learn that the .ico format allows you to store multiple sizes of the same image. That allows your operating system to show you a larger version of the file, rather than stretching a 16 x 16 blob of mud.

OS doesn't have to stretch a tiny blob of mud

How did I do it? I followed the tutorial at egressive.

http://egressive.com/tutorial/creating-a-multi-resolution-favicon-including-transparency-with-the-gimp

This entry was posted in Images, Webmastering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

