Aw, Phoocs! That is to say… PHP + OOCSS

When I first heard about OOCSS, I was skeptical. Here was another expert developer with her own pet system for building pages – didn’t we all have something like that in our snippet library?

Plus, the “OO” component of OOCSS seems like kind of a stretched metaphor. It’s not truly object-oriented in the way that many programming languages are.

Plus, if you buy into OOCSS, you don’t get control of source-code order, which I thought was very important.

Nevertheless, I was tired of writing HTML by hand, and if Nicole Sullivan had a streamlined way to build one-, two-, and three-column layouts, with modules that magically worked, I was willing to listen. And the more I worked with OOCSS – particularly the templates and the modules – the more I was hooked.

It’s been about 2 years and I’ve never looked back. I always use OOCSS for new projects. Why not use a system that has been lovingly crafted, tested in the real world, and that works so cleanly?

Over the years I built wrappers in PHP for some of the sometimes-complex HTML structures required by OOCSS. After explaining to a friend why he should use OOCSS (and my PHP libraries that support it), I decided to make my libraries into an open-source project called Phoocs. That’s PHP + OOCSS, shortened into something relatively pronounceable… “fooks!” … sounds a little swear-y, but it won’t make you swear, I promise. If you’re interested in using it, find the source code on github.

I hope you find the library easy and useful. By all means submit suggestions, improvements, or even kudos to the project or to me here at this blog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

